Environmental Protection Review Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

How to Request a Review of a Compliance Order ("CO")

You must request a review within 30 days of receiving your copy of a written CO or within 30 days of receiving an oral order. The 30-day time limit for filing a request for a review may be extended by the Chief Review Officer in circumstances where it would be in the public interest to do so. In general, however, you should not rely on receiving an extension. The sooner the request for a review is made to the Chief Review Officer, the sooner the CO will be reviewed.

The request for a review must be sent to the Chief Review Officer at Environmental Protection Review Canada. The application must be in writing and signed by the person seeking review or that person's representative (e.g., lawyer). The request must include the following information:

  • The name and address for service of the person requesting the review;
  • A copy of the CO you wish to have reviewed;
  • The reasons why you are requesting a review of the CO in sufficient detail for the Chief Review Officer to understand your grounds of objection;
  • Whether or not you will be applying to suspend the operation of the CO pursuant to subsection 258(2) of CEPA, 1999.

At the same time a request for review is filed with the Chief Review Officer, the applicant should serve a copy of the request on the Minister of the Environment and Climate Change. This should be done by serving the documents on the appropriate regional Environment and Climate Change Canada Office. This would generally be the Office where the Enforcement Officer who issued the CO is based. You may wish to consult the directory of addresses.

To expedite the review, a request may be filed with the Chief Review Officer in electronic format by sending it to this email address: eprc-rpec@eprc-rpec.gc.ca. Please note that a request for review, and any other filing made in any proceeding, must be received by Environmental Protection Review Canada in hard copy.

What Happens After a Review is Requested

After Environmental Protection Review Canada receives the request for a review, it will send a letter or an email to the applicant confirming receipt and assigning a case number to the file. This number should be used on all documents or other material filed during the course of the review.

After officials at Environment and Climate Change Canada receive the copy of a request for review that the applicant has served on them, they will gather together the portion of their files that relate to the CO. They will then disclose this material to the applicant and send a copy of the material to Environmental Protection Review Canada. Thus, the applicant will have all of the material from Environment and Climate Change Canada that is relevant to the CO. Environmental Protection Review Canada will add the information to its public record.

In most cases, Environmental Protection Review Canada will contact the applicant (or applicant's representative) to arrange a pre-hearing conference. The pre-hearing conference provides an opportunity to clarify issues, establish a timetable and the procedures that will govern the particular case, and decide how confidential information (if any) or expert witnesses will be handled. For many cases, the pre-hearing conference will be a telephone conference call presided over by a Review Officer. In more complex cases, the pre-hearing conference may involve a meeting of the parties and their representatives with a Review Officer. After the pre-hearing conference, the Review Officer will usually issue directions regarding procedures, timing and any other matters that have been dealt with before the hearing. The directions will complement the Draft Rules of Procedure and Practice Directives that guide the Review Officers.

In some cases, the areas of dispute between Environment and Climate Change Canada and the applicant for a review may be suitable for mediation. The Chief Review Officer will assign a mediator, who will generally not be the Review Officer assigned to the case, to conduct a mediation in the hope of settling the matter without a hearing. Even where a mediation does not settle all the issues under dispute, it may allow the applicant and Environment and Climate Change Canada to agree on what matters should be brought before the Review Officer at a hearing.

Application to Stay (suspend) a CO

A request for a review does not suspend the operation of the CO. The Review Officer, however, has the discretion to stay (i.e., suspend) the CO until the review is complete. In doing so, the Review Officer may impose reasonable conditions that are consistent with the protection of the environment and public safety.

An applicant who seeks to have a CO stayed pending the review hearing  must file a written application to stay the CO, in whole or in part, with Environmental Protection Review Canada. The application should state the reasons why a stay is requested, and should be supported by an affidavit that sets out, among other matters the applicant considers relevant, the following:

  • The reasons why the applicant believes that there is a serious issue to be resolved on the review;
  • The reasons why the applicant would suffer irreparable harm if the stay is not granted;
  • The reasons why the balance of convenience favours the granting of the stay. In addressing the balance of convenience, the affidavit should set out the reasons why the granting of the stay is consistent with the protection of the environment and public safety.

Environment and Climate Change Canada may file an affidavit in reply to the application for a stay. Environmental Protection Review Canada may permit cross-examination on the affidavits as necessary to allow a decision to be made. Environmental Protection Review Canada may also make arrangements for the parties to make oral representations about the application for a stay. In some circumstances, these representations will be made by a telephone conference call. In other cases, the application will be dealt with in writing.

The applicant may also apply for an interim stay of the CO, pending resolution of the application for a stay. An application for an interim stay should be made in writing, setting out reasons why an interim stay should be granted. An application for an interim stay will be considered either in a telephone conference call among parties and the Review Officer or be based on the written documents. For additional information regarding stays, the applicant should consult the Practice Directives or call the EPRC.

The Hearing

The applicant for a review is entitled to appear in person (or through a representative) before the Review Officer. Counsel will appear on behalf of Environment Canada and the presiding Review Officer may also be advised by counsel. The hearings will often be held near where the applicant resides or where the matter that gave rise to the CO is located. Hearings may also be heard in writing, by telephone conference call, by video conference. Applicants are entitled to present their evidence in either official language and be heard by a Review Officer fluent in that language. Where the applicant or witnesses wish to present evidence in a language other than French or English, Environmental Protection Review Canada must be notified and the applicant must provide expert translators.

Environmental Protection Review Canada will attempt to schedule hearings as quickly as possible to suit the convenience of the parties. The Review Officer will issue a decision within 15 days after the end of the hearing. The Minister of the Environment and Climate Change or the applicant may appeal the decision of the Review Officer in respect of a CO to the Federal Court - Trial Division within 30 days.

Additional Information
Applicants for a review of a CO should also refer to the Draft Rules of Procedure and Practice Directives. Additional questions can be directed to Environmental Protection Review Canada.
Environmental Protection Review Canada
240 Sparks Street, 4th Floor West
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0X8
Canada

Tel: (613) 995-7599
Fax: (613) 907-1337
Email: eprc-rpec@eprc-rpec.gc.ca

Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Présentation d'une demande de révision d'un Ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'envitonnement (« ordre »)

La demande de révision doit être faite dans les 30 jours suivant la réception de votre copie de l'ordre écrit ou de l'ordre oral. Ce délai de 30 jours pour loger la demande peut être prorogé par le réviseur-chef lorsqu'il serait dans l'intérêt public de le faire. Toutefois, en général, il ne faut pas compter sur une prorogation. Le plus tôt on présente une demande de révision au réviseur-chef, le plus tôt l'ordre sera révisé.

Il faut envoyer la demande de révision au réviseur-chef de la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada. Il faut la présenter par écrit et la faire signer par le demandeur ou son représentant (p. ex., l'avocat).  La demande doit renfermer les renseignements suivants :

  • le nom et le domicile élu aux fins de signification du demandeur;
  • une copie de l'ordre que vous voulez faire réviser;
  • les motifs au support de votre demande de révision, suffisamment détaillés pour permettre au réviseur-chef de les comprendre;
  • l'indication si vous demandez ou non de suspendre l'exécution de l'ordre en vertu du paragraphe 258(2) de la LCPE, 1999.

En même temps que de présenter une demande de révision au réviseur-chef, le demandeur doit en faire parvenir une copie au ministre de l'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, à savoir au bureau régional compétent d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Ceci devrait être fait en signifiant les documents auprès du bureau régional approprié d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada. Ce bureau sera généralement le même que celui de l'agent d'exécution qui a émis l'ordre. Ceci peut être fait en consultant le répertoire d'adresses.

Pour accélérer la révision, on peut présenter sa demande au réviseur-chef sous forme électronique en l'envoyant à l'adresse suivante : eprc-rpec@eprc-rpec.gc.ca. Mais la demande de révision, et tout autre dépôt de documents dans toute instance, doit toujours être faits par écrit à la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada.

Traitement de la demande de révision

Lorsque la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada reçoit une demande de révision, elle envoie une lettre ou un message électronique au demandeur pour en accuser réception et attribuer un numéro au dossier. Il faut utiliser ce numéro dans tous les documents ou autre matériel présentés au cours de la révision.

Lorsque les fonctionnaires d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada reçoivent la copie de la demande de révision que le demandeur leur a signifiée, ils réuniront un dossier lié à l'ordre pour le divulguer au demandeur et en envoyer copie à la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada. Ainsi, le demandeur possédera tous les documents d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada qui sont pertinents en lien avec l'ordre. La Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada ajoutera cette information à son registre public.

Dans la plupart des cas, la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada communiquera avec le demandeur (ou son représentant) pour fixer la date de la conférence préparatoire à l'audience. Cette conférence permet de clarifier les questions, d'établir un calendrier et les procédures qui régiront le cas particulier, et de décider comment traiter les renseignements confidentiels (le cas échéant) ou des témoins experts. Dans beaucoup de cas, la conférence préparatoire se déroulera par téléphone sous la présidence d'un réviseur. Dans les cas complexes, cette conférence peut prendre la forme d'une réunion des parties et de leurs représentants avec un réviseur. Après la conférence préparatoire, le réviseur donne généralement des directives concernant les procédures, le calendrier et les autres questions traitées avant l'audience. Ces directives se rajouteront à l'ébauche des règles de procédure et les directives de pratique qui guident les réviseurs.

Dans certains cas, les sujets de litige entre Environnement et Changement climatique Canada et le demandeur se prêtent à la médiation. Le réviseur-chef désignera alors un médiateur, qui n'est généralement pas le réviseur du cas, et le chargera d'effectuer une médiation dans l'espoir de régler le litige sans audience. Même lorsque la médiation ne réussit pas à régler tous les sujets en litige, elle permettra au demandeur et à Environnement et Changement climatique Canada de s'entendre sur les questions à soumettre au réviseur au cours d'une audience.

Demande de suspension d'un ordre

Une demande de révision d'un ordre ne suspend pas l'exécution de l'ordre. Toutefois, le réviseur a le pouvoir discrétionnaire de suspendre l'ordre jusqu'à l'issue de la révision. Ce faisant, le réviseur peut imposer des conditions raisonnables qui respectent la protection de l'environnement et de la sécurité publique.

Un demandeur qui demande d’avoir un ordre suspendu pendant la durée des procédures doit présenter à la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada une requête écrite visant à suspendre l'ordre, intégralement ou partiellement. Cette demande doit faire état des motifs du demandeur et doit être appuyée par un affidavit qui précise, parmi d'autres points jugés importants par le demandeur, les éléments suivants :

  • les raisons pour lesquelles le demandeur estime qu'il existe une question sérieuse à régler dans la révision;
  • les raisons pour lesquelles le demandeur subirait un préjudice irréparable si la suspension n'était par accordée;
  • les raisons pour lesquelles la prépondérance des inconvénients favorise l'octroi de la suspension. À cet égard, l'affidavit doit préciser les raisons pour lesquelles l'octroi de la suspension respecte la protection de l'environnement et la sécurité publique.

Environnement et Changement climatique Canada peut présenter un affidavit en réponse à la demande de suspension. La Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada pourrait permettre de procéder à un contre-interrogatoire concernant les affidavits, au besoin, afin que l'on puisse rendre une décision. La Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada pourrait permettre également aux parties de faire des représentations orales concernant la demande de suspension. Dans certains cas, ces représentations pourront se faire par conférence téléphonique. Dans d’autres cas, les demandes seront traitée par écrit.

Le demandeur peut aussi demander une suspension provisoire de l'ordre, en attendant le règlement de la demande de suspension. Il doit présenter cette demande par écrit et y expliquer les motifs justifiant l'octroi de la suspension provisoire. La demande de suspension provisoire sera examinée soit par une conférence téléphonique entre les parties et le réviseur, ou sera basée sur les documents écrits. Pour obtenir d'autres renseignements sur la suspension, le demandeur peut consulter les directives de pratique ou communiquer directement avec la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada.

Audience

L'auteur d'une demande de révision a le droit de comparaître en personne (ou par le truchement d'un représentant) devant le réviseur. L'avocat comparaîtra au nom d'Environnement Canada, et le réviseur peut, lui aussi, être conseillé par un avocat. Les audiences ont souvent lieu près du lieu de résidence du demandeur ou de l'endroit qui a donné lieu à l'ordre. Les audiences peuvent aussi avoir lieu par écrit, via une conférence téléphonique, ou par vidéoconférence. Le demandeur a le droit de présenter ses preuves dans la langue officielle de son choix et d'être entendu par un réviseur qui parle couramment cette langue. Lorsque le demandeur ou les témoins désirent présenter des preuves dans une autre langue, ils doivent en aviser la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada et fournir un interprète expert.

La Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada s'efforcera de tenir les audiences le plus tôt possible pour accommoder les parties. Le réviseur rendra sa décision à l’intérieur d’un délai de 15 jours suivant la fin de l’audience. Le ministre de l’Environnement et Changement climatique ou le demandeur peuvent en appeler de la décision du réviseur concernant l’ordre auprès de la Cour fédérale à l’intérieur d’un délai de 30 jours.

Renseignements complémentaires

L'auteur de la demande de révision d'un ordre devrait également consulter l'ébauche des règles de procédure et les directives de pratique. D'autres questions peuvent être envoyées à la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada.
Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada
240, rue Sparks, tour Ouest, 4e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0X8
Canada
Tél. : (613) 995-7599
Fax : (613) 907-1337
Courriel : eprc-rpec@eprc-rpec.gc.ca