Environmental Protection Review Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Reasons regarding Compliance Order Number 5008-2009-10-23-004 - May 3, 2010

In the matter of a Request for Review of Environmental Protection Compliance Order Number 5008-2009-10-23-004 issues to Enviro West Inc., Ron Fehr, Garrett Grant, John Powell and Glen Dueck

Reasons for Decision

On February 9, 2010, an Environmental Protection Compliance Order was issued to Enviro West Inc. and the individuals named above by CEPA 1999 Enforcement Officer Pia Rasmussen. This Order required Enviro West and the named individuals (hereafter “Enviro West”) to take certain measures with respect to PCB contaminated oil, as required by the PCB Regulations issued under the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. Specifically, Enviro West was required:

  1. To send for destruction all PCB laden oil located at 156 Tilley Rd in Kelowna, BC, to an authorized destruction facility.
  2. [To] provide the undersigned officer [Pia Rasmussen] with a written signed report no later than April 30th, 201l indicating the measures you have taken to comply with subsection 23 of the Regulation and to provide verbal monthly updates to the undersigned officer until the final report is received.

The Order was to be effective until April 30th, 2010.

On March 9, 2010, Enviro West, through its counsel, Mr. Ron Skolrood of Lawson Lundell LLP in Vancouver, B.C., filed a request for review pursuant to section 256 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act 1999. A motion for a stay was also filed at the same time. Since the Chief Review Officer determined that a hearing could be held before the end of April, 2010, the request for a stay was put aside.

The grounds for the application for review were that it was impossible to comply with the Compliance Order since the only Canadian PCB treatment center, the Swan Hills Treatment Centre in Swan Hills, Alberta, was closed for repairs and would not be open until after April 30, 2010.

The Chief Review Officer heard the matter in Vancouver on April 20, 2010 in the boardroom of Heenan Blaikie. Present were:

  1. Mr. Ron Skolrood, Lawson Lundell LLP, counsel for the applicant
  2. Ms. Lauren Cook, Lawson Lundell
  3. Ms. Marja Bulmer, Justice Canada, counsel for Minister (Environment Canada)
  4. Ms. Pia Rasmussen, CEPA 1999 Enforcement Officer
  5. Mr. John Heaney, Heenan Blaikie, counsel for Environment Protection Review Canada

Certain facts had been agreed upon; namely, that there was PCB laden oil in the care and control of Enviro West; that the PCB Regulations required the destruction of this PCB laden oil; that the Swan Hills Treatment Centre was the only treatment centre available in Canada; and that the Swan Hills Treatment Centre was closed for repairs until some time in May.

The Chief Review Officer determined that the Compliance Order required amendment to take into account the delays caused by the repairs at the Swan Hills Treatment Centre. Both parties agreed that extending the Order until July 2, 2010 would allow sufficient time for compliance since conversations between the applicant and Swan Hills indicated that the Centre would be in operation around mid-May. Additional reporting provisions were added to the amended Order to add incentives for disposal as soon as the Centre was able to handle the delivery of the Enviro West oil and to assist Environment Canada’s monitoring of the situation. The amended Order was sent to the parties on April 29, 2010 by fax and is also attached to these reasons.

Margot Priest
Chief Review Officer
May 3, 2010

Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Motifs quant à l'Ordre d’exécution numéro 5008-2009-10-23-004 - 3 mai 2010

Dans l’affaire intéressant la demande de révision d’un ordre d’exécution en matière de protection de l’environnement, portant le numéro 5008-2009-10-23-004 donné à Enviro West Inc., à Ron Fehr, à Garret Grant, à John Powell et à Glen Dueck

Motifs de la décision

Le 9 février 2010, un ordre d’exécution en matière de protection de l’environnement a été donné à Enviro West Inc. et aux individus nommés plus haut par l’agent d’autorité Pia Rasmussen en vertu de la LCPE (1999). Cet ordre exigeait qu’Enviro West et les individus désignés (« Enviro West ») prennent certaines mesures concernant de l’huile contaminée aux BPC, conformément au Règlement sur les BPC pris en vertu de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999). Plus précisément, il était ordonné à Enviro West de prendre les mesures suivantes :

  1. Acheminer toute l’huile contenant des BPC qui se trouve au 156, Tilley Rd, à Kelowna, en Colombie-Britannique, à une installation agréée pour y être détruite.
  2. Fournir à l’agent soussigné [Pia Rasmussen], au plus tard le 30 avril 201l, un rapport écrit et signé indiquant les mesures prises pour se conformer à l’article 23 du Règlement et lui fournir verbalement un rapport de suivi mensuel jusqu’à réception du rapport final.

L’ordre était en vigueur jusqu’au 30 avril 2010.

Le 9 mars 2010, Enviro West, par la voix de son avocat, Me Ron Skolrood du cabinet Lawson Lundell LLP de Vancouver (C.-B.), a déposé une demande de révision en vertu de l’article 256 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l’environnement (1999). Une demande de sursis a aussi été déposée en même temps. Puisque le réviseur-chef a déterminé qu’une audience pouvait avoir lieu avant la fin d’avril 2010, la demande de sursis a été rejetée.

La demande de révision était motivée par le fait qu’il était impossible de respecter l’ordre d’exécution puisque la seule installation canadienne de traitement des BPC, le centre de traitement de Swan Hills, en Alberta, était fermé pour des réparations et ne rouvrirait qu’après le 30 avril 2010.

Le réviseur-chef a instruit l’affaire à Vancouver le 20 avril 2010, dans la salle de conférence de Heenan Blaikie. Étaient présents :

  1. Me Ron Skolrood, Lawson Lundell LLP, avocat de la partie demanderesse
  2. Me Lauren Cook, Lawson Lundell
  3. Mme Marja Bulmer, ministère de la Justice du Canada, avocate du ministre (Environnement Canada)
  4. Me Pia Rasmussen, agent d’autorité chargé d’appliquer la LCPE (1999)
  5. Me John Heaney, Heenan Blaikie, avocat de Révision de la protection de l’environnement Canada

Certains faits étaient admis : Enviro West avait la possession et le contrôle d’huile contenant des BPC; le Règlement sur les BPC exigeait la destruction de cette huile; le centre de traitement de Swan Hills était la seule installation de traitement disponible au Canada; le centre était fermé pour des réparations jusqu’au mois de mai.

Le réviseur-chef a déterminé que l’ordre d’exécution devait être modifié pour tenir compte des retards occasionnés par les réparations au centre de traitement de Swan Hills. Les deux parties ont convenu que la prorogation de l’ordre d’exécution au 2 juillet 2010 accorderait suffisamment de temps pour s’y conformer puisque des conversations entre la partie demanderesse et Swan Hills indiquaient que le centre serait ouvert vers la mi-mai. De nouvelles dispositions de suivi ont été ajoutées à l’ordre d’exécution pour encourager l’élimination de l’huile dès que le centre serait en mesure d’en recevoir un chargement de la part d’Enviro West et pour aider Environnement Canada à surveiller la situation. L’ordre modifié a été transmis aux parties le 29 avril 2010 par télécopieur et est joint aux présents motifs.

Margot Priest
Réviseur-chef
Le 3 mai 2010