Environmental Protection Review Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Order and reasons - December 5, 2002

[Quebec City, Quebec]

In the matter of the request for review made by IET-Aquarecherche Ltée,
Ms. Marie-Claude Cantin and Mr. Karl F. Ehrlich concerning environmental protection compliance order No. 2008-2002-08-22-001

Louis LaPierre, Review Officer
December 9, 2002


Reasons for Decision

Background

[1] After an inspection at the offices of IET-Aquarecherche Ltée by an Environment Canada enforcement officer, environmental protection compliance order No. 2008-2002-08-22001 (the "order") was issued to the corporation and to Ms. Marie-Claude Cantin and Mr. Karl F. Ehrlich, President and Vice-President respectively of the corporation (the "applicants"). The order was given in writing on October 7, 2002.

[2] The order identifies a number of micro-organisms and the enforcement officer concluded that IET-Aquarecherche Ltée, Ms. Cantin and Mr. Ehrlich had not provided the Minister with the information prescribed by subsections 106(1) and (2) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 ("CEPA, 1999") in the form required by the New Substances Notification Regulations, SOR/94-260. The order requires the applicants to provide the information prescribed by subsection 106(1) by November 15, 2002. The information prescribed by subsection 106(2) must be provided by December 16, 2002.

[3] Under subsection 256(1) of CEPA, 1999, the applicants made a request for review of the order to the Chief Review Officer. The request was received at the Environmental Protection Review Canada ("EPRC") office late in the day on November 6, 2002, and was entered in the register the following morning, on November 7, 2002. In his letter, counsel for the applicants, Mr. Richard Laflamme, requested a suspension of the operation of the order pursuant to subsection 258(2) of CEPA, 1999. More particularly, Mr. Laflamme requested the following:

[Translaton]

We are also asking [the Chief Review Officer], given all the confusion that the application of this Act has caused our client since 1998, to suspend, for all legal purposes, the operation of the compliance order….

[4] In the affidavit accompanying the request, Mr. Laflamme argued in favour of suspending the order:

[Translation]

The applicants are requesting that the order be suspended . . . given the irreparable harm they could suffer from both the general disclosure of the list identifying the micro-organisms grown by the applicants and/or the possibility that the applicants could be convicted of some type of offence under this Act.

[5] The Chief Review Officer issued an interim order dated November 15, 2002, suspending the operation of the compliance order until November 21, 2002. In doing so, the Chief Review Officer took into account the very short period of time between receipt of the application and the date when compliance with the order was required (including a long weekend). Mr. Denis Lemieux, counsel for EPRC, informed the Chief Review Officer that Mr. Laflamme and Mr. Simon Kamel, counsel for the Minister, were discussing a settlement. This additional period of time not only made it possible to negotiate a settlement, but also enabled Mr. Kamel to file the Minister's reply to the application to suspend the operation of the order. Mr. Kamel had until noon on November 20, 2002, to do so. His reply was filed within this time limit.

[6] After considering the arguments presented by Mr. Laflamme in the application to suspend the operation of the order and Mr. Kamel's reply, the Chief Review Officer denied the application for a stay, with reasons to follow. A hearing on the merits of the request to review the order was scheduled for December 5, 2002.

[7] At the pre-hearing conference on December 4, 2002, Review Officer Louis Lapierre, Mr. Simon Kamel and Mr. Richard Laflamme agreed that the hearing would deal only with the question of confidentiality that was the subject of item #6 of the request to review a compliance order and request for confidentiality No. 1300-02-0001 prepared by Mr. Richard Laflamme on November 13, 2002. Review officer Louis LaPierre assured Messrs. Laflamme and Kamel that the confidentiality requested by Mr. Laflamme would be guaranteed during the review on December 5.

The question of confidentiality

Review of the relevant facts

[8] Mr. Kamel presented the following facts concerning the alleged offence:

a. Section of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 or of its regulations that are alleged to have been contravened:
  • Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999
    • Subsections 106(1) and 106(2)
    • ;New Substances Notification Regulations, SOR/94-260 as amended
    • Subsection 29.11
    • Subparagraph 29.12(a)(i)
    • Subsection 29.14(1)
    • Section 29.15

Facts concerning the alleged offence as specified in order 2008-2002-08-22-001

The information obtained during an inspection conducted on August 20, 2002, at the offices of IET-Aquarecherche Ltée located at 27 Highway 143 South, North Hatley, by enforcement officers Daniel JG Bidal and Bernard Bruneau, gives me reasonable grounds to believe that IET-Aquarecherche Ltée is manufacturing micro-organisms that do not appear on the Domestic Substances List. These micro-organisms are manufactured, marketed, sold and distributed under the brand name Bacta-Pur by IET-Aquarecherche Ltée. A list of 20 micro-organisms was obtained from Mr. Ehrlich during the inspection and none appears on the Domestic Substances List as published in the Canada Gazette, Part II, on the following dates: March 18, 1997, April 30, 1997, and June 24, 1998.

The additional information obtained from our Gatineau (Hull Sector) offices shows that IET-Aquarecherche Ltée provided incomplete report forms in 1997 and that these forms were returned in 1998, with the missing information identified. Despite Ms. Cantin's statement that she tried to communicate with the New Substances Branch, the information concerning the micro-organisms manufactured by IET-Aquarecherche Ltée remains incomplete.

I therefore have reasonable grounds to believe that:

  1. you have contravened, and continue to contravene, subsection 106(1) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 by manufacturing the following micro-organisms: (The micro-organisms are subject to the request for confidentiality and must not be disclosed.) without providing the Minister with the regulatory information within the time limits specified in subsection 29.11(1) and subparagraph 29.12(a)(i) of the New Substances Notification Regulations, SOR/94-260 as amended.

  2. you have contravened, and continue to contravene, subsection 106(2) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999 by manufacturing the following micro-organism: (The micro-organism is subject to the request for confidentiality and must not be disclosed.) without providing the Minister with the regulatory information within the time limits specified in subsection 29.14(1) and section 29.15 of the New Substances Notification Regulations, SOR/94-260 as amended.
Information requested by order

You are hereby ordered to take the following measures in accordance with the procedures and within the time limits hereinafter indicated:

  1. For each of the micro-organisms listed above [see (a)] (The micro-organisms are subject to the request for confidentiality and must not be disclosed.):
    1. Correctly complete Schedule 15 (see Appendix 1 of this compliance order), as required by subsection 29.11(1) of the New Substances Notification Regulations, SOR/94-260 as amended;

    2. If, however, you present the necessary evidence to establish that these micro-organisms were manufactured or imported into Canada between January 1, 1984, and December 31, 1986, you can instead complete Form B (see Appendix 2 of this compliance order) for purposes of this compliance order;

    3. Send Schedule XV duly completed, or Form B, as the case may be, by November 15 at the latest, to the Minister of the Environment, care of Gordon Stringer, to the following address:
      Notifications Processing and Controls Section
      New Substances Branch
      Environment Canada
      14th floor, Place Vincent Massey
      351 St-Joseph Boulevard
      Gatineau, Quebec
      J8Y 3Z5

  2. For the micro-organism listed above [see (b)] (The micro-organism is subject to the request for confidentiality and must not be disclosed.):

    1. Correctly complete Schedule XV (see Appendix 1 of this compliance order), as required by subsection 29.14(1) of the New Substances Notification Regulations, SOR/94-260 as amended;

    2. Send Schedule XV duly completed, by December 16, 2002, at the latest, to the Minister of the Environment, care of Gordon Stringer, to the above-mentioned address.

  3. You must inform me, in the following manner, of the progress you are making in implementing the measures:

    1. Provide written notification of the date on which the above-mentioned required information was sent to Mr. Stringer, within 5 days following the sending of this information.

    2. Provide proof that the information was sent to and received by Mr. Stringer as soon as possible after the information is sent.

[9] Mr. Laflamme argued in favour of suspending the order, given the irreparable harm that could be caused to IET-Aquarecherche Ltée, which harm may result from the general disclosure of the list identifying the micro-organisms manufactured. He also pointed out that the information concerning the ecology of the micro-organisms could disclose to competitors the operating mechanisms and treatment procedures.

[10] Mr. Laflamme pointed out that the short time limit imposed on IET-Aquarecherche Ltée in Mr. Gordon Stringer's letter of October 3, 2002, and the filing of order 2008-2002-08-22-001 did not give IET-Aquarecherche a reasonable amount of time.

[11] Mr. Laflamme argued that the applicants claim that they have repeatedly tried to provide the information required by the Department's representatives while seeking a guarantee of confidentiality concerning the disclosure of the identity of the micro-organisms used by IET-Aquarecherche in its culture tanks.

[12] Mr. Laflamme pointed out that the applicants never refused to produce the information, but rather were denied the guarantee of confidentiality concerning disclosure of the list of information required.

[13] Mr. Laflamme also pointed out that, despite Mr. Gordon Stringer's remarks concerning confidentiality procedures in his letter of October 3, 2002, the situation did not reassure his client.

[14] In reply, Mr. Kamel pointed out that enforcement officer Bidal had offered IET-Aquarecherche Ltée the opportunity to make oral representations, but that IET-Aquarecherche Ltée apparently declined the following offer:

[Translation]
Opportunity to Make Oral Representations

Under subsection 237(1) of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, you have the opportunity to make oral representations on the proposed compliance order.

Making oral representations is voluntary. It enables you to provide information concerning the alleged offence or the content of the environmental protection compliance order, or both. The attached environmental protection compliance order could be issued without any changes, or changes could be made in light of your representations.

Please contact me by September 25, 2002, at the latest to let me know if you plan to take advantage of the opportunity to make oral representations.

If you do, and you plan to submit written documents to me when you make your representations, please provide me with a copy for my own records.

This notice of intent was delivered to you in North Hatley, Quebec on September 13, 2002, by:

Daniel JG Bidal
Enforcement Officer
Badge No. 210
105 McGill Street
Montréal, Quebec
H2Y 2E7
(514) 496-6672
(514) 496-2087
daniel.bidal@ec.gc.ca

[15] Mr. Kamel also pointed out that the confidentiality aspect was addressed in sections 314 and 315 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999. He also referred to the procedures that were possible under:

  • the Masked Name Regulations
  • the Access to Information Act, S.C.
    1980-81-82-83, c. 111, Sch. l "1"

[16] However, Mr. Kamel pointed out that the procedures prescribed by sections 313, 314 and 316 are initiated only where the record is complete and all the required information has been provided. In the case of IET-Aquarecherche Ltée, the required information, as defined in Schedule XV (see Appendix 1 of the order and confirmed by Mr. Gordon Stringer's letter of October 3, 2002) had not been provided. As soon as the required information was provided, the confidentiality procedure described in section 313 would be initiated and the required information would then be treated as confidential.

Decision

[17] Following discussions between Messrs. Kamel and Laflamme and Review Officer Louis LaPierre, the parties submitted a joint settlement proposal that the Review Officer accepted.

For these reasons, the Review Officer decides that:

a. The environmental protection compliance order issued under section 235 of the Canadian Environmental Protection Act, 1999, number 2008-2002-08-22-001, and addressed to the following persons:

IET-Aquarecherche Ltée
P.O. Box 208
27 Highway 143 South
North Hatley, Quebec
J0B 2C0

Marie-Claude Cantin
President
IET-Aquarecherche Ltée
P.O. Box 208
27 Highway 143 South
North Hatley, Quebec
J0B 2C0

Karl Ehrlich
Vice-President
IET-Aquarecherche Ltée
P.O. Box 208
27 Highway 143 South
North Hatley, Quebec
J0B 2C0

is confirmed as presented, with the exception of the dates specified at page 3 of the order.

For each of the micro-organisms (The micro-organisms are subject to the request for confidentiality and must not be disclosed.):
"Submit, by November 15 at the latest, Schedule XV duly completed…"

For the micro-organism (The micro-organism is subject to the request for confidentiality and must not be disclosed.):
"Submit, by December 16, 2002, at the latest, Schedule XV duly completed…"

b. The order is amended by replacing these two dates with the date January 31, 2003.

The review officer also takes note of the agreement of Messrs. Kamel and Laflamme to hold a meeting as soon as possible in order to establish the procedures required to prepare and transfer the information.

[signed]
Louis LaPierre
Review Officer
December 9, 2002

Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Ordonnance et motifs - le 5 décembre 2002

[Ville de Québec, QC]

Dans l'affaire de la demande de révision déposée par IET-Aquarecherche Ltée,
Mme Marie-Claude Cantin et M. Karl F. Ehrlich à l'égard de l'ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'Environnement no 2008-2002-08-22-001

Louis LaPierre, Réviseur
Le 9 décembre 2002


Motifs de décision

Contexte

[1] Après une inspection des bureaux d'IET-Aquarecherche Ltée par un agent de l'autorité d'Environnement Canada, l'ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'environnement no 2008-2002-08-22-001 (" l'ordre ") a été donné à la société, à Mme Marie-Claude Cantin et à M. Karl F. Ehrlich, respectivement Présidente et Vice-président de la société (" les demandeurs "). L'ordre a été donné par écrit le 7 octobre 2002.

[2] L'ordre identifie un certain nombre de micro-organismes et l'agent de l'autorité a conclu qu'IET-Aquarecherche Ltée, Mme Cantin et M. Ehrlick n'avaient pas fourni au ministre les renseignements prévus aux paragraphes 106(1) et (2) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) (la " LCPE (1999) ") dans la forme exigée par le Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, DORS/94-206. L'ordre exige que les demandeurs déposent les renseignements prévus au paragraphe 106(1) au plus tard le 15 novembre 2002. Les renseignements prévus au paragraphe 106(2) doivent être déposés au plus tard le 16 décembre 2002.

[3] En vertu du paragraphe 256(1) de la LCPE (1999), les demandeurs ont déposé auprès du réviseur-chef une demande de révision de l'ordre. La demande a été reçue au bureau d'Examen de la protection de l'environnement Canada (" EPEC ") tard dans la journée du 6 novembre 2002 et a été inscrite au registre le lendemain matin, le 7 novembre 2002. Dans sa lettre, l'avocat des demandeurs, Me Richard Laflamme, demande une suspension de l'application de l'ordre en vertu du paragraphe 258(2) de la LCPE (1999). Plus précisément, Me Laflamme écrit :

De plus, nous lui demandons, compte tenu de tous les imbroglios générés par l'application de cette Loi auprès de notre client depuis 1998, de suspendre, à toutes fins que le droit, l'application de l'ordre d'exécution (…)

[4] Dans l'affidavit accompagnant la demande, Me Laflamme plaide en faveur de la suspension de l'ordre :

Les demandeurs requièrent la suspension de l'Ordre (…) compte tenu du préjudice irréparable qui pourrait leur être causé, lequel préjudice peut découler tant de la divulgation générale de la liste identifiant les micro-organismes cultivés par les demandeurs et/ou la possibilité que les demandeurs puissent être reconnus coupables d'une infraction de quelque nature que ce soit en regard de la présente Loi.

[5] Le réviseur-chef a émis une ordonnance provisoire en date du 15 novembre 2002 suspendant l'application de l'ordre d'exécution jusqu'au 21 novembre 2002. Ce faisant, le réviseur-chef a pris en considération le très court délai entre la réception de la demande et la date à laquelle l'exécution de l'ordre était exigée (incluant un long week-end). Me Denis Lemieux, avocat d'EPEC, a informé le réviseur-chef que Me Laflamme et Me Simon Kamel, avocat du Ministre, discutaient d'un règlement. En plus de permettre la négociation d'un règlement, ce délai visait à permettre à Me Kamel de déposer la réponse du ministre à la requête de suspension de l'application de l'ordre. Le délai accordé à Me Kamel était fixé au 20 novembre 2002, à midi. Sa réponse a été déposée à l'intérieur de ce délai.

[6] Après avoir considéré les arguments présentés dans le cadre de la demande de suspension de l'application de l'ordre par Me Laflamme et la réponse de Me Kamel, le réviseur-chef a rejeté la requête de suspension, avec motifs à suivre. Une audience sur le fond de la demande de révision de l'ordre est prévue le 5 décembre 2002.

[7] Lors de la pré-conférence le 4 décembre 2002, il fut convenu entre le réviseur M. Louis LaPierre, Me Simon Kamel et Me Richard Laflamme que l'audience traiterait seulement de la question de confidentialité qui avait fait l'objet de l'item # 6 de la requête afin d'examiner un ordre d'exécution et demande de confidentialité no 1300-02-0001 préparé par Me Richard Laflamme le 13 novembre 2002. Le réviseur M. Louis LaPierre assure Me Laflamme et Me Kamel que la confidentialité demandée par Me Laflamme sera assurée lors de la révision le 5 décembre.

La question de confidentialité

Révision des faits pertinents

[8] Me Kamel a présenté les faits suivants entourant la présumée infraction :

a. Section de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) ou de ses règlements qui font l'objet d'une présumée infraction :

  • Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999)
    • Paragraphes 106(1) et 106(2)
    • Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, DORS/94-260 et ses modifications successives
    • Paragraphe 29.11(1)
    • Sous-alinéa 29.12(a)(i)
    • Paragraphe 29.14(1)
    • Article 29.15

Faits entourant la présumée infraction telle que stipulé par l'ordre 2008-2002-08-22

L'information obtenue au cours d'une inspection effectuée le 20 août 2002 aux installations de IET-Aquarecherche Ltée sises au 27, route 143 Sud à North Hatley, par les agents de l'autorité Daniel JG Bidal et Bernard Bruneau, me donne des motifs raisonnables de croire que IET-Aquarecherche Ltée fabrique des micro-organismes qui n'apparaissent pas sur la Liste intérieure. Ces micro-organismes sont fabriqués, commercialisés, vendus et distribués sous la marque Bacta-Pur par IET-Aquarecherche Ltée. Une liste de 20 micro-organismes a été obtenue de M. Ehrlich pendant l'inspection et aucun d'eux d'apparaît sur la Liste intérieure telle que publiée dans la Gazette du Canada, partie II, aux dates suivantes : 18 mars 1997, 30 avril 1997 et 24 juin 1998.

L'information complémentaire obtenue de nos bureaux de Gatineau (secteur Hull) démontre que IET-Aquarecherche Ltée a fourni des formulaires de déclaration incomplets en 1997 et que ces formulaires ont été retournés en mars 1998, identifiant des omissions. Malgré l'affirmation de Mme Cantin a l'effet qu'elle aurait tenté de communiquer avec la section des substances nouvelles, les informations concernant les micro-organismes fabriqués par IET-Aquarecherche Ltée demeurent incomplètes.

J'ai donc des motifs raisonnables de croire que :

  1. vous avez enfreint et continuez d'enfreindre le paragraphe 106(1) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) en fabriquant les micro-organismes suivants : (Les micro-organismes sont soumis à la demande de confidentialité et ne doivent pas être dévoilés.) sans avoir fourni au ministre les renseignements réglementaires dans les délais prévus par le paragraphe 29.11(1) et le sous-alinéa 29.12(a)(i) du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, DORS/94-260 et ses modifications successives.

  2. vous avez enfreint et continuez d'enfreindre le paragraphe 106(2) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) en fabriquant le micro-organisme suivant : (Le micro-organisme est soumis à la demande de confidentialité et ne doit pas être dévoilé.) sans avoir fourni au ministre les renseignements réglementaires dans les délais prévus par le paragraphe 29.14(1) et l'article 29.15 du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, DORS/94-260 et ses modifications successives.

Information demandée par l'ordre

Ordre vous est donné de prendre les mesures suivantes selon les modalités et les délais indiqués ci-après :

a. Pour chacun des micro-organismes énumérés plus haut [voir a)] : (Les micro-organismes sont soumis à la demande de confidentialité et ne doivent pas être dévoilés.)

  • Remplir correctement l'annexe XV (voir annexe 1 du présent ordre d'exécution), tel que requis par le paragraphe 29.11(1) du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, DORS/94-260 et ses modifications successives;

  • Si toutefois vous démontrez par les preuves nécessaires que ces micro-organismes ont été fabriqués ou importés au Canada entre le 1er janvier 1984 et le 31 décembre 1986, vous pouvez au lieu de remplir le Formulaire B (voir annexe 2 du présent ordre d'exécution) pour les fins du présent ordre d'exécution;

  • Faites parvenir, au plus tard le 15 novembre, l'annexe XV dûment remplie, ou le Formulaire B le cas échéant, au ministre de l'Environnement au soin de Gordon Stringer à l'adresse suivante :

    Section des procédures de déclaration et de contrôles
    Direction des substances nouvelles
    Environnement Canada
    14e étage, Place Vincent Massey
    351, boulevard St-Joseph
    Gatineau, Québec
    J8Y 3Z5

b. Pour le micro-organisme énuméré plus haut [voir b)] : (Le micro-organisme est soumis à la demande de confidentialité et ne doit pas être dévoilé.)

  • Remplir correctement l'annexe XV (voir annexe 1 du présent ordre d'exécution), tel que requis par le paragraphe 29.14(1) du Règlement sur les renseignements concernant les substances nouvelles, DORS/94-260 et ses modifications successives;

  • Faites parvenir, au plus tard le 16 décembre 2002, l'annexe XV dûment remplie au ministre de l'Environnement au soin de Gordon Stringer citée plus haut.

Vous devez m'informer, de la manière suivante, des progrès que vous faites dans l'exécution des mesures :

  1. Aviser par écrit de la date à laquelle les renseignements requis ci-dessus ont été envoyés à M. Stringer dans les 5 jours suivant l'envoi.

  2. Fournir une preuve d'envoi et de réception par M. Stringer dans les plus brefs délais après l'envoi.

[9] Me Laflamme plaide en faveur de la suspension de l'ordre, compte-tenu du préjudice irréparable qui pourrait être causé à IET-Aquarecherche, lequel préjudice peut découler tant de la divulgation générale de la liste identifiant les micro-organismes cultivés. En plus, il souligne que les informations entourant l'écologie des micro-organismes pourrait dévoiler à des compétiteurs les mécanismes de fonctionnement ainsi que les procédures de traitement.

[10] Me Laflamme souligne que le court délai imposé à IET-Aquarecherche Ltée par la lettre de M. Gordon Stringer, en date du 3 octobre 2002 et la déposition de l'ordre 2008-2002-08-22-001 n'offrait pas à IET-Aquarecherche un délai raisonnable.

[11] Me Laflamme argumente que les demandeurs énoncent qu'ils ont, à maintes reprises, tenté de fournir les informations requises par les représentants du Ministère tout en sollicitant la confidentialité quant à la divulgation de l'identification des micro-organismes utilisés par IET-Aquarecherche dans ses bassins de culture.

[12] Me Laflamme souligne que les demandeurs n'ont jamais refusé de produire les informations, mais bien plutôt se sont vus refuser l'obtention de la confidentialité quant à la divulgation de la liste des éléments requis.

[13] En plus, Me Laflamme souligne qu'en dépit des propos de M. Gordon Stringer sur les processus de confidentialité dans sa lettre du 3 octobre 2002, la situation n'était pas rassurante pour sa cliente.

[14] Me Kamel en réplique a souligné que l'Agent Bidal avait offert à IET-Aquarecherche Ltée la possibilité de présenter oralement des observations, mais que IET-Aquarecherche Ltée aurait décliné l'offre suivante :

Possibilité de présenter oralement des observations

En vertu du paragraphe 237(1) de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999), vous avez la possibilité de présenter oralement vos observations sur le projet d'ordre d'exécution.

La présentation orale de vos observations est volontaire. La présentation orale de vos observations vous permet de fournir de l'information concernant la présumée infraction ou la teneur de l'ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'environnement, ou les deux. L'ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'environnement ci-joint peut demeurer inchangé ou faire l'objet de modifications à la lumière de vos observations.

Prière de communiquer avec moi au plus tard le 25 septembre 2002 pour me faire savoir si vous comptez vous prévaloir de la possibilité de présenter oralement vos observations.

Si tel est le cas et que vous prévoyez me soumettre des documents écrits au moment de présenter vos observations, prière d'en apporter un exemplaire pour mes propres dossiers.

Le présent avis d'intention vous a été délivré le 13 septembre 2002 à North Hatley, Québec par :

Daniel JG Bidal
Agent de l'autorité
Matricule no. 210
105, rue McGill
Montréal, Québec
H2Y 2E7
(514) 496-6672
(514) 496-2087
daniel.bidal@ec.gc.ca

[15] Me Kamel a aussi souligné que l'aspect de confidentialité était prévu aux articles 314 et 315 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999); en plus, il a souligné les dispositifs qui étaient possibles sous :

  • Le règlement sur les dénominations maquillées
  • La Loi sur l'accès à l'information, s.c.
    1980-81-82-83, ch. 111 ann. 1 " 1 "

[16] Cependant, Me Kamel a souligné que les procédures prévues par les articles 313, 314 et 316 sont entamées seulement lorsque le dossier est complet et que toutes les informations requises ont été fournies. Alors, pour IET-Aquarecherche Ltée, les informations requises tel que défini par l'annexe XV (voir annexe un de l'ordre et confirmer par la lettre de M. Gordon Stringer en date du 3 octobre 2002) n'avait pas été fournies. Dès que les informations requises seraient fournies, le processus de confidentialité décrit par l'article 313 serait entamé et la confidentialité des informations fournies serait entamé.

Décision

[17] Après discussion entre Me Kamel, Me Laflamme et le réviseur M. Louis LaPierre, les parties ont soumis une proposition conjointe de règlement que le réviseur a acceptée.

Pour ces motifs, le réviseur décide que :

a. L'ordre d'exécution en matière de protection de l'Environnement émis en vertu de l'article 235 de la Loi canadienne sur la protection de l'environnement (1999) numéro 2008-2002-08-22-001 et adressé aux personnes suivantes :

IET-Aquarecherche Ltée
C.P. 208
27, route 143 Sud
North Hatley, Québec
J0B 2C0

Marie-Claude Cantin
Présidente
IET-Aquarecherche Ltée
C.P. 208
27, route 143 Sud
North Hatley, Québec
J0B 2C0

Karl F. Ehrlich
Vice-président
IET-Aquarecherche Ltée
C.P. 208
27, route 143 Sud
North Hatley, Québec
J0B 2C0

est maintenu tel que présenté, exception faite aux dates prévues à la page 3 de l'ordre.

Pour chacun des micro-organismes (Les micro-organismes sont soumis à la demande de confidentialité et ne doivent pas être dévoilés.)
" Faites parvenir, au plus tard le 15 novembre, l'annexe XV dûment remplie… "

Pour le micro-organisme (Le micro-organisme est soumis à la demande de confidentialité et ne doit pas être dévoilé.) " Faites parvenir, au plus tard le 16 décembre 2002, l'annexe XV dûment remplie… "

b. L'ordre est modifié afin de remplacer ces deux dates par la date du 31 janvier 2003.

Le réviseur prend également acte de l'accord de Me Kamel et Me Laflamme pour entamer une réunion dans les plus brefs délais afin d'établir les procédures qui s'imposent pour la préparation et le transfert de l'information.

Louis LaPierre
Réviseur
Le 9 décembre 2002