Environmental Protection Review Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Confidentiality

General

[1] The Chief Review Officer and the Review Officers have a statutory mandate to prevent trade secrets and other confidential information from being disclosed or made public as a result of being used as evidence in a review. Section 23 of the Rules of Procedure sets out the process for the treatment of confidential documents. Environmental Protection Review Canada has developed internal procedures to ensure that confidential documents remain confidential and are separated from the public file to prevent accidental disclosure.

[2] Rule 23 states:

23. Confidentiality

[23.1] Where a document is filed with the presiding Review Officer, the Review Officer will make the document available for inspection unless a Party asserts a claim of confidentiality at the time of the filing.

[23.2] Any claim for confidentiality made in connection with a document filed with the presiding Review Officer or requested by the presiding Review Officer must be accompanied by reasons for the claim of confidentiality and, where it is alleged that specific direct harm would occur from a breach of confidentiality, sufficient details regarding the nature and extent of harm must be provided.

[23.3] A claim for confidentiality will be placed on the public record of the review and a copy of the claim must be provided to the Parties and Intervenors, if any, by the person claiming confidentiality.

[23.4] The Party claiming confidentiality must provide the presiding Review Officer with a non-confidential summary or a non-confidential edited version of the information, which will be placed on the public record.

[23.5] A Party to a proceeding or an Intervenor seeking the public disclosure of information for which confidentiality has been claimed may request the presiding Review Officer to order disclosure. The person seeking disclosure must set out reasons for the request, including the relevance of the document to the review and public interest considerations, if any.

[23.6] In determining whether information provided to the presiding Review Officer is of a confidential nature, the presiding Review Officer will take into account the provisions of the Privacy Act and the Access to Information Act.

[23.7] Where a Party has asserted a claim to confidentiality, the Review Officer may disclose or require the disclosure where he or she determines, after considering the representations from the Party and other interested persons, that disclosure, in full or in part, is in the public interest or is required by fairness and natural justice.

Designating Information as Confidential

[3] Generally speaking, the responsibility for designating information as confidential belongs to the party filing the information. The opposing party may also assert a claim for confidentiality where that party's interests are affected.

[4] Information for which a confidentiality claim is being made must be clearly marked, with an effort to sever and identify portions for which confidentiality is not required, if possible.

[5] Where a party has made a claim for confidentiality, the claim must be accompanied by a thorough and convincing explanation of why confidentiality is justified. The claim must be in sufficient detail to allow the presiding Review Officer to determine the issues at stake, including the likelihood and severity of the harm that would occur as a result of the disclosure of information sought to be held in confidence. For example, it will not be sufficient to merely make a broad statement such as "We will be hurt competitively." Nor will it be sufficient for the party simply to mark documents as "Confidential." The Review Officer will expect to receive explanations dealing with such matters as the importance of the information to the person asserting confidentiality, the treatment of that information by that person in the course of business, the availability of that information in other fora, as well as a realistic assessment of potential harm.

[6] The party making a claim for confidentiality must file a summary of the information or an edited version that will be placed on the public record. The summary or edited version must be sufficiently detailed to provide an evidentiary base for the claim being supported by the confidential filing.

Determination by the Review Officer

[7] The presiding Review Officer may decide that a claim for confidentiality is not justified. If the Review Officer decides that a document should be placed on the public file, the party claiming confidentiality will be notified. The party will have an opportunity to provide additional explanations of why the information should be treated as confidential. The party may also choose to withdraw the disputed document. In that case, the information will not form part of the record and it will not be considered by the Review Officer in his or her deliberations, unless received from another source.

[8] Where a party or intervenor, if any, challenges the confidentiality designation of information, the Review Officer will hear representations from the parties and other interested persons. The statutory language and the case law arising from the Access to Information Act and the Privacy Act will inform the Review Officer's decision, but considerations of fairness and natural justice, as well as the public interest, will also be determinative in the context of a quasi-judicial hearing.

Declarations and Undertakings

[9] Rule 24 states:

[24] Disclosure to Counsel or an Expert

[24.1] Counsel who wishes access to information that the presiding Review Officer has determined to be confidential must provide the Review Officer with an undertaking and acknowledgment in the form set by Environmental Protection Review Canada regarding the use, disclosure, reproduction, protection and storage of the confidential information, as well as the disposal of confidential information at the close of the hearing or in the event of the change of counsel.

[24.2] A person who is recognized by the Review Officer as an expert, who is acting under the direction of counsel to whom confidential information has been disclosed and who wishes access to some or all of the confidential information, must provide the Review Officer with an undertaking and acknowledgement in the form set by Environmental Protection Review Canada regarding the use, disclosure, reproduction, protection and storage of the confidential information, and regarding that expert's disposal of the confidential information at the close of the hearing or in the event of a change of expert.

[24.3] The person requesting that its information be kept confidential must be given notice of the presiding Review Officer's intention to disclose information to counsel or to an expert pursuant to an undertaking and acknowledgement and may request the Review Officer to refrain from disclosure.

[10] Counsel may request access to information filed by the other party in confidence. Counsel will be required to submit a Declaration and Undertaking in the form determined by Environmental Protection Review Canada; this constitutes a binding undertaking not to disclose any confidential information received, including disclosure to the counsel's client. The other party may object to a request by counsel for access to confidential information. The presiding Review Officer may grant or deny access on such terms as the Review Officer considers reasonable. Counsel may not make copies of any confidential information to which they are granted access without the Review Officer's permission.

[11] All confidential material and notes relating to confidential material in the hands of counsel or expert witnesses who have signed Declarations and Undertakings will be returned to Environmental Protection Review Canada offices on the completion of the proceedings. The purpose of this provision is to ensure that as little confidential material as possible is stored outside of the control of Environmental Protection Review Canada.

[12] Confidential documents, exhibits and other information will not be sent to counsel by electronic means. Where electronic information is provided, counsel will be asked to provide in their Declaration and Undertaking a statement regarding the safeguarding of electronic information and an undertaking to delete all information from computers and networks.

In Camera Proceedings

[13] Rule 25 states:

[25] In Camera Proceedings

[25.1] The hearings conducted by a Review Officer will be public subject the following provisions regarding confidentiality and in camera proceedings:

[25.2] The presiding Review Officer may hold all or any part of a hearing in camera,

  1. on his or her own initiative or on the request of a Party or Intervenor, if any, for the purposes of receiving confidential information; or
  2. on the request of a Party who establishes that the circumstances justify an in camerahearing.

[25.3] Arguments on whether any part of a hearing should be held in camera may be heard in camera.

[14] As a general rule, the hearings of a Review Officer will be open to the public. A person seeking confidential treatment of information, however, may seek to have any determinations on the issue of confidentiality treated in camera. Furthermore, where after hearing representations, a Review Officer determines that information shall be treated as confidential, the portion of the hearing relevant to that information will be held in camera.

[15] Where the Review Officer agrees to hold the hearing in camera, persons who are not authorized to hear discussions of potentially confidential matters will be asked to leave the hearing. Only those persons providing the information and those persons, e.g., counsel and expert witnesses, who have signed Declarations and Undertakings will be allowed to remain in the hearing. When the discussion of confidential matters has ended, the hearing will re-open to the public.

Responsibilities of Environmental Protection Review Canada and Review Officers

[16] Environmental Protection Review Canada will maintain separate confidential and public files. The public files will contain summaries or edited versions of the confidential material. The recordings of the in camera portions of the hearings will be kept separate from the recordings of the public hearing and will be kept as part of the separate confidential file. As little confidential material as possible will be stored after the appeal period by Environmental Protection Review Canada.

[17] Review Officers will not disclose confidential information that comes into their possession as Review Officers.

Return of Confidential Material

[18] Environmental Protection Review Canada will return confidential material to the submitting parties after the time for any appeal to the Federal Court has passed according to the provisions of the Federal Court Act. Summaries and edited versions of documentary material will remain with the record of the review in the files of Environmental Protection Review Canada. Where an appeal has been filed, the confidential material will form part of the record sent to the Court and will not be returned to the submitting party in order to maintain a complete record at the offices of Environmental Protection Review Canada until the appeal process has been completed.

Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Confidentialité

Généralités

[1] Le Réviseur-chef et les réviseurs ont le mandat, aux termes de la Loi, de protéger les secrets industriels et les renseignements confidentiels qui sont produits en preuve dans le cadre d'une révision. L'article 23 des Règles de procédure décrit la procédure applicable aux documents confidentiels. La Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada a conçu des procédures internes pour faire en sorte que les documents qui sont confidentiels le demeurent et ne soient pas versés au dossier public afin d'éviter les divulgations accidentelles.

[2] L'article 23 prévoit ce qui suit :

[23] Confidentialité

[23.1] Le réviseur qui préside doit mettre à la disposition du public, pour consultation, tout document déposé à son bureau, à moins que le déposant fasse demande de confidentialité au moment du dépôt, exigeant que ceux-ci demeurent confidentiels.

[23.2] Toute demande de confidentialité concernant un document déposé chez le réviseur qui préside ou requis par ce dernier doit contenir les motifs sur lesquels elle est fondée et, s'il y est allégé que le manque de confidentialité peut causer directement un préjudice réel et sérieux, elle doit contenir des précisions suffisantes sur la nature et l'étendue des dommages.

[23.3] La demande de confidentialité est versée au dossier public de l'instance en révision et copie de la demande doit être transmise aux parties et aux intervenants, lorsque présents, par l'auteur de la demande de confidentialité.

[23.4] L'auteur de la demande de confidentialité doit transmettre au réviseur qui préside un résumé non confidentiel des informations qui seront versées au dossier public.

[23.5] Une partie ou une partie intervenante requérant la divulgation publique d'informations faisant l'objet d'une demande de confidentialité, peut présenter requête au réviseur qui préside. L'auteur de la demande doit en donner les motifs, notamment la pertinence du document par rapport à l'instance en révision et les considérations d'ordre public.

[23.6] En statuant sur la confidentialité de l'information transmise au réviseur qui préside, celui-ci doit prendre en considération les dispositions de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information.

[23.7] Lorsqu'une personne fait une demande de confidentialité, le réviseur peut procéder ou ordonner à la divulgation totale ou partielle, après avoir entendu l'auteur de la demande et les personnes intéressées au nom de l'intérêt public, de l'équité et de la justice naturelle.

Caractère confidentiel attribué à l'information

[3] Règle générale, il incombe à la partie qui dépose l'information de la qualifier de confidentielle. L'autre partie peut aussi réclamer la confidentialité si ses intérêts sont en cause.

[4] Il faut identifier clairement l'information faisant l'objet de la demande de confidentialité et, dans la mesure du possible, en retirer les portions dont la confidentialité n'est pas requise.

[5] La demande de confidentialité doit être accompagnée d'une explication complète et convaincante des motifs la justifiant. Elle doit en outre être suffisamment détaillée pour permettre au réviseur qui en est saisi de trancher les questions en jeu, notamment le risque de préjudice découlant de la divulgation de l'information qui en fait l'objet et la gravité de celui-ci. Par exemple, il ne suffira pas de dire simplement « La divulgation nous causera un préjudice sur le plan de la concurrence ». Il ne suffira pas non plus d'inscrire la mention « Confidentiel » sur les documents. Des explications traitant de l'importance de l'information pour la personne qui en demande la confidentialité, du traitement de cette information par cette personne dans le cours des affaires et la disponibilité de cette information dans d'autres administrations devraient être transmises au réviseur, de même qu'une évaluation réaliste du préjudice éventuel.

[6] La partie qui fait une demande de confidentialité doit déposer un résumé ou une version révisée de l'information. Ce résumé ou cette version révisée, qui sera versé au dossier public, doit être suffisamment détaillé pour démontrer le bien-fondé de la demande.

Décision du réviseur

[7] Le réviseur peut décider qu'une demande de confidentialité n'est pas justifiée. La partie qui demande la confidentialité d'un document sera alors avisée de la décision du réviseur de verser ce document au dossier public. Elle aura ensuite la possibilité de donner des explications additionnelles sur la nécessité de traiter le document comme un document confidentiel. Elle pourrait aussi choisir de retirer le document en cause, auquel cas l'information ne fera pas partie du dossier et ne sera pas prise en ligne de compte par le réviseur aux fins de sa décision, à moins qu'elle ne soit reçue d'une autre source.

[8] Le réviseur entendra les observations de la partie ou de l'intervenant qui conteste le caractère confidentiel attribué à l'information et de celles des autres personnes intéressées. Il s'inspirera, pour prendre sa décision, de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, ainsi que de la jurisprudence les concernant, mais les questions d'équité, de justice naturelle et d'intérêt public doivent aussi êtres prises en considération dans le contexte d'une audience quasi judiciaire.

Déclarations et engagements

[9] L'article 24 prévoit ce qui suit:

[24] Divulgation aux avocats ou aux experts

[24.1] Les avocats désirant avoir accès à l'information jugée confidentielle par le réviseur qui préside doivent fournir l'engagement et la reconnaissance, dans la forme prescrite par la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada concernant l'utilisation, divulgation, la reproduction, la protection, l'entreposage de l'information confidentielle, ainsi que sa destruction au terme de l'audience ou s'il y a substitution d'avocats.

[24.2] L'expert reconnu tel par le réviseur, qui agit sous la direction d'un avocat à qui on a divulgué de l'information confidentielle, peut avoir accès à toute ou à une partie de l'information confidentielle en remettant au réviseur l'engagement et la reconnaissance, dans la forme prescrite par la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada, concernant l'utilisation, la divulgation, la reproduction, la protection, l'entreposage de l'information confidentielle ainsi que sa destruction par l'expert au terme de l'instance ou s'il y a changement d'expert.

[24.3] La personne qui a exigé la confidentialité de l'information qu'elle a versée au dossier doit être avisée de l'intention du réviseur qui préside de la divulguer à un avocat ou à un expert en vertu d'un engagement et d'une reconnaissance. Elle peut demander au réviseur de ne pas donner suite à la divulgation.

[10] Un avocat peut demander que lui soit divulguée de l'information confidentielle déposée par l'autre partie. Il devra alors remettre une déclaration et un engagement dans la forme prescrite par la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada. En signant une telle déclaration et un tel engagement, l'avocat s'engage à ne pas divulguer, notamment à son client, l'information confidentielle qui lui est communiquée. L'autre partie peut contester la demande de divulgation de l'information confidentielle faite par un avocat. Le réviseur saisi de cette demande peut accorder ou refuser l'accès à l'information à des conditions qu'il estime raisonnables. Par ailleurs, l'avocat ne peut pas faire de copies de l'information confidentielle sans la permission du réviseur.

[11] Tous les documents confidentiels et les notes les concernant qui se trouvent entre les mains d'un avocat ou d'un témoin expert qui a signé une déclaration et un engagement seront retournés au bureau de la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada à la fin des procédures. Cette disposition a pour but de faire en sorte que le moins de renseignements confidentiels possible échappe au contrôle de la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada.

[12] Les documents, pièces et autres renseignements confidentiels ne seront pas transmis à l'avocat par un moyen électronique. Si de l'information est fournie de cette façon, l'avocat devra, dans la déclaration et l'engagement, mentionner la protection de cette information et s'engager à la supprimer des ordinateurs et des réseaux.

Audience à huis clos

[13] L'article 25 des Règles prévoit ce qui suit :

[25] Audience à huis clos

[25.1] L'audience dirigée par le réviseur est publique, sous réserve des dispositions suivantes concernant les questions de confidentialité et le huis clos :

[25.2] Le réviseur peut instruire toute partie de l'affaire à huis clos :
  1. de sa propre initiative ou à la demande d'une partie au litige ou d'une partie intervenante, le cas échéant, dans le but de recueillir de l'information confidentielle ou
  2. à la demande d'une partie au litige capable de démontrer que les circonstances justifient le huis clos.

[25.3] L'argument en faveur d'une audience à huis clos peut être entendu à huis clos.

[14] Règle générale, les audiences d'un réviseur seront publiques. Une personne qui fait une demande de confidentialité peut toutefois demander que celle-ci soit examinée à huis clos. En outre, si le réviseur décide, après avoir entendu les parties, que l'information faisant l'objet de la demande de confidentialité est confidentielle, la partie de l'audience portant sur cette information se déroulera à huis clos.

[15] Si le réviseur accepte de tenir l'audience à huis clos, les personnes qui ne sont pas autorisées à entendre les discussions portant sur des questions potentiellement confidentielles seront priées de quitter l’audience. Seules les personnes qui fournissent l'information et celles qui ont signé une déclaration et un engagement, par exemple les avocats et les témoins experts, pourront demeurer à l’audience. Une fois terminées les discussions portant sur la confidentialité, le public sera de nouveau admis dans la pièce.

Responsabilités de la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada et des réviseurs

[16] Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada conservera des dossiers confidentiels distincts des dossiers publics, lesquels contiendront les résumés ou les versions révisées de l'information confidentielle. De même, les enregistrements des parties de l'audience tenues à huis clos seront conservées séparément des enregistrements des parties s'étant déroulées devant le public et seront versés aux dossiers confidentiels. La Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada conservera aussi peu de renseignements confidentiels que possible.

[17] Les réviseurs ne divulgueront pas d’information confidentielle obtenue dans le cadre de leurs fonctions en tant que réviseurs.

Retour de l'information confidentielle

[18] Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada retournera l'information confidentielle aux parties qui l'ont fournie après que le délai de présentation de toute demande d’appel à la Cour fédérale, prévu par la Loi sur la Cour fédérale, soit écoulé. Les résumés et les versions révisées de l'information confidentielle seront conservés, avec les procès-verbaux des révisions, dans les dossiers de la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada. S'il y a appel, l'information confidentielle sera versée au dossier envoyé à la Cour. Cette information ne sera pas retournée à la partie qui l'a fournie afin que la Révision de la protection de l'environnement Canada puisse disposer d'un dossier complet jusqu'à ce que le processus d'appel soit terminé.